Getting a new job while pregnant-FMLA-what would you do?

Eren

Reaction score
So I graduated in december with my degree in teaching. I will be job hunting for this upcoming school year. I am 5 weeks pregnant.

Interviews are coming up and many people are telling me not to say anything about the pregnancy... to just get the job and then spring into the office a week later saying "oh I just found out Im pregnant!"

Im so uncomfortable with this because I feel so guilty! What should I do? On a plus side, the baby would be born around Thanksgiving, when the kids are on a lot of holiday breaks. Id be able to return shortly after all the holidays.

Should I be honest and tell them... or keep it secret...

Does anyone have any experience with FMLA? As in, will i be able to get FMLA even though I just received a cotract with the school?

I've no idea what FMLA is, probably just an American thing? So can't help you there but in regards to telling them during interviews I'm 90% sure it will have a negative impact of you getting the job, employers even in this day and age look at pregnancy as an inconvenience, possible sickness leading to absences, time off for appointments, and realistically babies don't stick to their due date alot of the time so the whole being born at Thanksgiving time will probably be irrelevant to them. How far along will you be at the time of these interviews? I know it doesn't feel right morally, but I'd be inclined to not say anything.

I dont know how it works over there but in the UK you do not legally have to tell your employer until week 25. I would keep quiet if you have similar laws. It probably wont go down very well but if it's the difference between you getting the job and not getting it, I'd stay quiet for the time being. If they ask why you never mentioned at interview stage just tell them you were waiting til your 12 week scan. I think thats more than reasonable.