help with a 4 week old - question?

feisty_filly

Reaction score
hi every one and MERRY CHRISTMAS!
so i have a 4 week old little boy. he is on sma infant gold system and he is taking 6 oz every 4 hours.
im just wondering if i should put him up to 7oz as when hes finished a feed he still seems hungry. he is draning the bottles!. he still sleeps well it just takes about half an hour after a feed for him to drift off.
im only asking as he seems to be drinking alot already (more than it says he should on the tin) and im very new to all this lol.

any help is much apprechiated :)
happy holidays!

wow i thought ella was drinking a lot at 5oz!! yea if he's draining his bottles then they say put the oz up! even if it seems a lot compared to what's on the tin, every baby's different, some will drink more and others will drink less xx

Hi, we were just wondering the same about our little man. He is just over 4 weeks old and we have just upped his bottles to 180ml (about 6oz) from 150ml. We are also using SMA gold infant formula, and when he finishes the bottle he keeps 'beaking' and looking for more... sometimes sucking a finger or a dummy will do and sometimes we start another bottle (which is why we've now upped to 180ml).

We feed every 3 or 4 hours - I feel like its a lot but we're going with the demand feeding, we are worried though in case we're over feeding - so I'm looking forward to hearing the replies on here and also seeing how you get on :)

Maybe we've just got big greedy boys!! :rofl:

its impossible to overfeed hun, they just sick it up!!

You can't overfeed. My LO is a hungry boy and takes 7oz every 3 hours atm but I've noticed his feeding has calmed down recently. At 5 weeks he was on 6oz and at 6 weeks to 7oz but he's stopped eating quite so ravenoulsy and I can now keep up with him lol. He's 9 weeks tomorrow.

My advice, feed what they ask for and they will find their level (Earl's on SMA too!)