I'm new and would love some opinions :)

Doodlepants

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the natural birthing section and would just like some advice/ opinions if you don't mind?

When I had my daughter I was induced in hospital. When they broke my waters there was meconium in there. I had also been having monitering for reduced movements leading up to being induced.
I was put on a drip to speed things up (I think that was why- my daughter's HB was indicating that she was in stress?) and advised to have an epidural- all I had heard through pregnancy was that induction was even more painful so I agreed- I did ask if I would be getting my water birth before all of this- I was told no as I would need monitering. So I spent my time in labour strapped to the bed and ended up with a vontouse and forceps delivery.

Well done if you managed to get this far!
Basically, what I want to know (and haven't had any luck asking my MW) is this- Would it be completely selfish of me to want a water birth? I'd love a homebirth but I'm so so frightened because of last time. The birth centre is in the hospital so I guess it's there if worst came to worst.
I live about 30 mins away from the nearest hospital which is why I'm leaning towards the birth centre rather than home birth.

Any advice would be much appreciated, I feel quite lost and I am going to do everything in my power not to have a birth like last time.

Sorry if I sound so uneducated about all of this xxx

You don’t’ sound uneducated at all!! Make no apologises for asking questions - hey some of us have spent rather a long time researching all that is to do with pregnancy , labour and birth (perhaps a bit tooo much!)