Intro + Transitioning off BC

Sakura15

Reaction score
Hello all :)

I started introducing myself in bits on a couple of the sticky threads, but perhaps it's better to just make a new thread? I also have some questions about transitioning off BC in preparation for TTC...

I am 28 and my OH is 36. We have been together 4 years and moved to China from the Caribbean a year and a half ago. Now that our life and finances are stable, we are planning to TTC in August. I'll also complete my Masters' coursework by then. I am a teacher and I truly hope I can start my maternity leave in term 3, and roll it into summer. Or, have the summer off in my bigger months and then take maternity at the start of the school year. I know you can't depend on timing being exact, but one can hope! The extra time would really help as I am considering having the baby in the UK (where I'm a citizen). If that doesn't pan out it would be okay here as healthcare in our city is quite good.

I was on various pills for 10 years, never quite settling on 'the one' that I felt 100% comfortable with - although I'm not sure if such a form of BC exists! I got pregnant unexpectedly last March while on the pill (but I had started the pack late that month). Emotions were mixed. I wanted so much to have a baby, but hated feeling so out of control - it just didn't feel like the best time. OH wasn't angry but definitely not ready. Just when we came to grips with being pregnant, and started planning and exploring options for making it work, I lost the pregnancy. I was absolutely devastated. OH was incredibly supportive, but it upset me even more that he didn't want to TTC right away. I so wanted that baby, I felt being pregnant again would be the only thing to counteract the loss.

It took some time but I have a more positive outlook on things now. I am glad for the opportunity for both of us to be fully prepared. I look forward to the day that those 2 lines bring us nothing but joy!