Job hunt has really knocked my confidence

kmbabycrazy

Reaction score
So a bit of background - which I've written about a few times around the forum - I went back to uni a few years ago to get my degree to be able to do my dream job. However, going into that career would have involved moving as there are just no opportunities for it anywhere near where I live. Hubby was totally supportive about me doing it, but over the past year (when I was in the final year of my degree) he's changed his mind and now I'm here, with a degree that isn't of much use.

I have a part time job but we're struggling financially now my student loans have ran out and I've been applying left right and centre for jobs in both customer service and admin work since my exams finished in May as I have experience in both. I currently work as a receptionist/admin assistant, and have worked as so in the past and have worked in customer service. I must have applied for around 50 jobs. I have either not heard back from them at all, or had rejections from every single one. Not one interview. It has totally knocked my confidence and I feel like i'm never going to find anything.

I'm worried I will resent my husband for changing his mind if this goes on much longer, and to top it off. He is being made redundant in September. He has applied for one job and has got an interview for it. Already having confidence and anxiety issues, I am worried that this is going to get worse. I feel so down about it.

I don't know what advice I'm looking for. I just needed to rant and get it out.

Could you speak to someone for cv and interview advice? It sounds like it might be your cv that's not highlighting the relevant skills. There's some cv templates on reed. I used that and it seems to work for me although all my job applications have been internal.