Job interview at 23 weeks

jessmke

Reaction score
I have an interview for a part time job (only one evening a week, it will be in addition to my full time job). In order to qualify for a paid maternity leave I am going to have to work until a week before my due date (I need to work 600 hours), and I am worried that I won't be able to. If I get extra hours then I will be able to take maternity leave earlier if I find I am unable to work. I am in Canada and I am not required to tell an employer that I am pregnant, and they are not legally allowed to not hire me because of my pregnancy. The problem is that I am a vet nurse, so there are several important parts of the job that I cannot do, such as take x-rays. I would really like to get an "in" at this clinic and could really use the extra hours, so I don't want to say anything about my pregnancy and I could hide it at the interview with strategic clothing, but then if I get the job I will have a super awkward first day when I have to tell them I am pregnant and can't do x-rays or anesthesia (unless they want to get me a respirator).

So my plan is to not say anything at the interview, and then wait until they offer the position to me (if they do). Once they make the offer then I will tell them I am pregnant and put the ball in their court. It would shift the awkwardness onto them, because if they rescind the job offer they are very obviously doing something illegal. But I am worried this will still leave a sour taste in their mouth about me.

Any suggestions on what I should do in this situation?

If you don't tell them it will definately give them a bad impression as your so far along it will be obvious you hid the pregnancy. Which mightn't be a good idea if you want to get "in" with the practice. Given the environment they may well appreciate your honesty. On the other hand if your just looking for a few months work before maternity it wouldn't do any harm to keep quiet.