Joint gifts

Blu10

Reaction score
I know lots of families do this. I'd love to buy a joint gift for my boys but there is a 4yr 9m age gap so I'm struggling, any ideas? This year they will be 5 and 1. Thanks x

I have a 4yr gap between my 2. I've never done a joint present before as they'ce never been in to the same things. I think mainly because dd has been too young.
But this year I'm thinking of a garage as they both have a good amount of hotwheels cars each

It is hard when there's a big gap. I've stopped doing joint gifts as they have got older (and there's more of them. There's 7.5 years between ds1 and ds4) because they just aren't into the same things. One thing I know that my little two liked at 1 and still play with now at 6 and 3 is imaginext batman toys. We've had our batcave since Christmas 2012 and its still going strong and still played with daily by both boys.

Maybe a multi games table thing though your one year old maybe too young (next year perhaps).

Car garage sounds good, you can also get Brio roadway which fits to the trains too. That's what my DDs are getting from nanny and grandad.

Playhouse in the garden if you have, could work out ££££ though. Or a tent for indoors?

I second the Imaginext stuff. My eldest got the batcave for his third birthday when his brother had just turned one and they've both loved it. It's still played with every day four years later.

Another idea might be a CD player for their bedroom - you could add audio story books as well as kid-orientated and pop music CDs.

My reason for joint gifts are so the toy is fair game for everyone and everyone has to share it. It is for the whole family. So even if one might be a little too young to play with it at the time when they get older they get just as much access to it as the others. Imaginext castle, play structure, board games, kitchens sets, sports sets, DVDs, etc. are great joint gifts. Pile of books and puzzles are good too. Or art sets.