Mastitis for the first time

SarahBear

Reaction score
I have a daughter who is 3 years 10 months and as still nursing twice a day (although she'd prefer 4 to 6 times a day). I also have a son who is 17 months old. I let him nurse on demand. I also nurse him to sleep or if he wakes up in the middle of the night and wants to nurse. Well, I went back to work (summer break. I'm a teacher) last week on Thursday. The first two days, I pumped during my lunch hour and this week, I didn't pump until I got home. This was working fine until yesterday (Thursday). In the wee hours of the morning, I woke up with a painful breast. I tried pumping, but it wasn't working. I tried squeezing and massaging the lump and it just wouldn't clear the way it did in the past. I finally went to sleep. At some point before I had to leave for work, I nursed both kids. I didn't take a pump with me because the pressure seemed to be reduced, but during my breaks, I hand expressed as the pressure (and pain) had built back up. It appeared that I was able to un-clog things and I expressed to let the pressure off and make it less painful. But by afternoon, I was feeling terrible and had to walk out of our staff meeting a couple times. I laid down in a semi-private space a couple times for about 15 minutes each time before returning. When I came home, I didn't pump, but my kids were up for doing lots of nursing. I was feeling a bit better, but a thermometer confirmed a low-grade fever. I don't have to work today (Friday) and am taking it easy. My breast is tender instead of painful and a bit lumpy but squishy. I'm tired and my throat is sore, but my temperature is back to normal. I also had very little appetite yesterday and it seems more normal today.