Parents disappointed about your pregnancy?

PnkPolkaDots

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm not pregnant yet this has been on my mind and it's bothering me (it even bothers me that it bothers me!). OH and I are not in a *bad* financial place, but we aren't rolling in the dough either. We pretty much live paycheck to paycheck, but are somehow able to put a chunk each month away (about 20-25% goes to our wedding money, rainy day stash, and general savings). We live very frugally with no government aid and are very careful to live within our means.

A big help has been how affordable rent is... we live in my parents' 2 bedroom rental house and they charge us below market value (we live next door to them and OH is able to let their dogs out during the day while they work and we watch the dogs when they go out of town, sort of in exchange for the lower rent). I work as a reading assistant (I'm a certified teacher but my position pays less) and while I have no student loan debt, I wanted to pursue a reading endorsement. I was turned down for a loan (I have an open loan for my car currently, I owe $4500 on it still) and wasn't going to do the program, but then my parents offered to pay for it (about $5,000) and I could just pay them back. So our total debt is about $9500 - $4500 to the bank, $5000 to my parents.

Now that you have the back story... I'm very self-conscious about my parents thinking we don't make enough to support a baby. I'm a reading assistant as I mentioned, and OH delivers pizza (yes, he has a college degree, but the recession nearly obliterated his field). We both want to be parents so bad and are willing to cut back on even more if needed. I have had two miscarriages and spent the last year NTNP to no avail, but we are on an official break until our wedding next summer. We really want to start trying as soon as we get married, but I dread breaking the news to my parents and having them being disappointed.