Parents' guide to Minecraft! Everything you need to know about this mysterious game!

ServerMiner

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

Firstly, my name is James and I have been working as a Minecraft server developer for over 4 years. I basically know my fair share about Minecraft ;) You have probably heard of Minecraft on the news, in the shop window and a 100 other places. It looks like some odd blocky retro game which doesn't belong in this century... Don't worry, I am here to fully clarify any curiosities or concerns you may have!

Let's start off with a little history lesson, Minecraft all began back in 17 May 2009 by a Swedish programmer called Markus Persson, most commonly known as "Notch". Microsoft then acquired Minecraft in September 2014 for an incredible $2.5 billion.

The Basics

Minecraft is not your traditional game where you would level up and progress through a serious of challenges or adventures. Instead, Minecraft is what we call a sandbox game. You are probably thinking, what kind of computer game requires a sandbox?! A sandbox game is effectively the opposite of a traditional level up type game; you have zero limits and an open world where the only limitation is your imagination. This is what I personally love about Minecraft, you spawn in a universe which you can make your own and call home.

Where do you start?

First you would need to purchase the game but I will get onto this later! You have two options, either play by yourself on a "singleplayer" world or play with a group of friends on a "multiplayer" server. Let's break this down:

A singleplayer world is where you play alone in Minecraft, you don't have to worry about anyone interfering with your world or buildings. This is usually the preferred method when starting Minecraft but soon you will start thinking about the possibilities of what Minecraft could be like with friends.