Please Help! Newborn Losing Weight...

Islas_mummy

Mummy of 2
Reaction score
Ok ladies I need some help/reassurance.

My LO is 6 days old today and it is my first time Breastfeeding.

I came out of hospital too early on the Friday after I had given birth and by the time I went back into hospital at 12 noon the following day, my nipples were munched to pieces and bleeding with blisters on them (I had been doing it all wrong all day and night). So the lovely midwives got me to stay in over night and have help with feeding. So I became confident with my latch and positioning, but my nipples were in so much pain I was getting really depressed. I knew if I carried on in this pain I would just turn to formula.

So I stopped breast feeding that night (Sunday) and began pumping and feeding from a bottle. The next day my midwife came and agreed I needed to let myself heal as my nipples were really bad. And that when they were healed I could have a Breast Feeding Support Worker over every day until he was re-latched and we were both happy.

He was weighed on Monday and had lost 6.5% of his body weight. I have carried on expressing and feeding every 3 hours (getting between 2-3oz) and feeding him that, then topping up with formula if he needs it (which he rarely does). He was weighed again yesterday and had lost another 1.5oz. So not 7.7% weight loss.

I am starting to panic that my milk is not making him put on weight. They are coming again tomorrow to re-weigh him and I am so nervous. I have been feeding him religiously every 3 hours (he is like a robot, he wakes for a feed smack on every 3 hours!) And topping him up (although he very rarely takes it! He much prefers my milk).

I am not so worried about re-latching him, as yesterday and today I have just put him on a few times, whilst the Breast Feeding Support Worker is over, and he has latched beautifully. But I am really worried about his weight!!

Any stories/advise/support would be greatly appreciated. x