Please tell me driving gets easier!

pandacub

Proud mummy to Jacob
Reaction score
I feel like I've posted lots of driving related threads recently, so sorry for another!

So as the title says, please tell me driving gets easier?! I mean, I know logically that it must do and it's a matter of practice, but I just cannot Wait to be able to just jump in my car and not even think about it. At the moment, I'm still a bit nervous and plan each journey in my head thoroughly before I set off. Theres nothing in particular I'm atrocious at.. I've stalled a fair few times (in front of a police car yesterday!!) but I'm getting better, I can passably park but tend to panic.
Especially today, I was parked in a supermarket car park, and a car had parked really close next to me on a bit of a slant, so I was terrified I was going to hit it on the way out :|

Anyway, how long until you started to feel more confident?

I think it's just practice. I'm a new driver too and I still would rather pay for parking where I know there's loads of space rather than park on a street for free. I also panic about someone parking close. Xx

It does get easier, i've been driving for about 6/7 years now and I definitely don't think about it too much anymore. It's only recently that i've got confident reverse bay parking and parallel parking though. I'm an anxious person so driving somewhere I don't know will play on my mind (mainly because I think i'll get lost). But otherwise i'm totally fine and I used to hate driving! xx

Just keep practicing honestly it does get easier x

It honestly does. I was terrible but now I do a 3hr drive including an hour on the m25 once a week x

100% it will get easier! I was exactly the same this time last year! I was petrified, dreaded going out and always had to over think about parking etc

I was actually thinking about it recently how much I hated it at first to the point I wanted to give up! the more you drive the easier it gets! Don't give up x