Pregnant & Job Hunting

Sassymom

Reaction score
Hello! I have a quandary and I was hoping you all could give me some advice.

I will be 11 weeks pregnant tomorrow, and I am finishing up some interviews for a job that was practically MADE for me. When the job got posted, I didn't know I was pregnant and I have been waiting around for the interviews with my boss and othe co-workers. (Background: I have been temping with this company/group for 4 years. Boss finally got the head count approved so I know everyone an work with them closely).

My boss said they are wrapping up the process Monday and if I am chosen I would get my offer letter early next week.

Here is where my guilt/quandary comes in. Should I tell them I am pregnant before I get the offer so they don't feel I "tricked them" or do I tell them after I get the job / after I am 12 weeks like I am supposed to? What would you do in my position?

Thanks!

Oh my goodness I am in a similar situation. We just moved across the states for my dh's new job... but I got pregnant soon after we moved here! I need to find work but don't know how. Stalking this thread to see advice! Good luck to you! If you are honest and say you didn't know when you first applied, but tell them before you accept, I think that would be best. Scary though. If they say never mind, then you did everything in your power to do the right thing. They may not as you're probably planning on returning to work after you have the baby.

I have been in your situation about 10 years ago I was fresh out of college and had landed a job with a Fortune 500 company and I knew I was 4 weeks pregnant. I didn't tell them til after the job because the reality of it is they will judge you and probably eliminate you altogether if you tell them that.

In their minds you will need maternity leave, sick days, and you may not be so focused on the job because you have a newborn. So wait is what I would say.