Pregnant with unplanned baby and TERRIFIED!

HannahMae

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm 21 years old and have just discovered I am pregnant. I've been on Nexplanon for two weeks and before that we were using condoms, so this was very much unplanned. :dohh:

Part of me is so excited and happy, but another part of me is utterly terrified! I've been with my fiancé for 14 months and we're planning on moving in together soon. He's been wonderfully supportive, as have his family. I haven't even told my parents yet as I'm terrified of their reaction. I know they'd ultimately be supportive but I'm sure they'll be shocked and disappointed too....

I'm currently in my first year of university too, which adds a whole new level of complication! I'm planning on finishing my first year but then taking a year off and returning next year after baby is born.

I'm happy but also so, so scared! This will be my first child and I've never even been around babies or children (I'm the youngest in my family).

Argh, this is all so scary and exciting and wonderful and horrifying... :haha:

Congratulations!
I've just found out I'm pregnant, completely unplanned too...
Although very different situation, I'm older (30), married and already have two children
But, I understand the crazy mix of overwhelming emotions you're feeling right now!!!
I'm studying too and gonna have to take a maternity break from that as well. I'm sure it'll all work out though.... good luck with telling your parents (even I'm nervous about telling my parents :/ hahaha)

Congratulations!
I’m sure all will work out great :hugs:

I think everyone has those feelings from time to time regardless of their situation. When I was about 13 weeks pg with DS it suddenly dawned on me I was going to have a baby! We tried for so long and had 2 losses on the way so its not like we weren't preparing for it. But I still felt scared and petrified about it. I think its a sign that you will be a great mum.