Research request - A thematic analysis of online forums for postnatal mental illness

DonnaM

Reaction score
Dear forum moderator,

My name is Donna Moore and I am a researcher at City University London. As part of my ongoing research on postnatal distress I am looking at how internet forums on postnatal mental illness may benefit women. I was hoping to get your consent to include your forums archived messages from the past 6 months in a large analysis of a number of forums. Care has been taken to ensure forum users privacy, anonymity and safety and the project has been granted ethical approval by City University London School of Health Sciences Research Ethics Committee. I have attached the forum user information sheet for you to look at which has more details on the research (see below). Please email me if you have any questions, thank you for your time.

Kind regards,
Donna

A thematic analysis of online forums for postnatal mental illness

Please take time to read the following information carefully and discuss it with others if you wish. It is important that you understand why the research is being done and what it would involve for you. Ask us if there is anything that is not clear or if you would like more information.

What is the purpose of the study?

Postnatal illness, such as postnatal depression, anxiety and PTSD after childbirth, are global health concerns. As part of our ongoing research we are looking at ways the internet could be a useful addition to treatment for women with postnatal mental distress. Internet forums for postnatal mental illness are increasingly popular, but little research has looked at the possible positive or negative impact on women. This study aims to explore women's online experiences of using forums dedicated to postnatal mental illness by looking at the threads from the past 6 months.