SPD I need some help

OmarsMum

Reaction score
Omar is not diagnosed with SPD, it's all private here and quite expensive.

He had several sensory issues when he was younger but it seems that with the help of school and at home he is getting over them and he showing loads of progress

The only thing that we cant tackle is food. He is very picky when it comes to food, I'm a health coach and I know now to add nutrition to his food which is not an issue when it comes to nutrition, he is healthy and rarely gets sick.

But feeding himself freaks him out, it ends up with huge tantrums, he knows how to use cutlery, but he will not feed himself, he doesnt like his hands to get messy with food, even with using the spoon or a fork he keeps thinking what if I mess myself or my clothes

He doesnt touch food at school and he told me clearly if I send a packed lunch with him he will not go to school anymore

I tried bribery, stickers, leaving him without food but none worked.

He has issues with texture, he eats certain types of food, he will not eat any raw veggies or fruits, so he gets those from smoothies.

They have cooking classes at school, he started to join in recently, but he packs what he made for us to eat.

He is not bothered with messy play although he hated it when he was younger, but with loads of sensory play he got over it.

I ask him to help with cooking but he feels like throwing up and he runs away.

He will not eat if others are eating, and will not sit with the family on the dining table, he hates restuarants and the smell of food there.

Anyone went through something similar? How can asessment and OT helps in this? A session of assessment costs US $ 200 and each OT session cost US $ 300

I don't know what an ot would suggest but can sympathise my daughter is so fussy with what she eats and toppings of any kind are not allowed she will not eat any meat either or basically anything new