The Great Debate - Aplix vs Snaps

DolceBella

Mum of 2 Gingers!!
Reaction score
Hey ladies!

I'm due Christmas with DD#3 and will use CD a bit more religiously than I have in the past. As of now, my stash is getting a bit old and worn. I have mostly thirsties AIOs, thirsties fitted with covers, some rumparooz, fuzzibunz, and maybe a couple applecheeks.

For this LO, I'm thinking of switching to GMD prefolds with covers. Has anyone had success with these? I'll probably need to buy new covers and I just can't decide between aplix or snaps. I've seen good feedback about the bummis covers. I've never used snaps before, but a lot of people really like them. I'm just nervous because I make tiny skinny babies. I'm worried about getting a good seal around the legs if i don't use aplix. I could also just use aplix in the newborn phase, then switch later if need be, since the diapers are sized and not AIO.

Also, the bummis can come with microfiber or bamboo inserts? I have lots of microfiber already, and I agree that they can get stinky. Does bamboo do this too? I'll buy some bamboo if it's better. Otherwise I'll just save my money and use the microfiber I already have.

Last question, which prefold is better..... White, unbleached, or organic? Sorry for all the questions!

I much prefer aplix myself. I never get the fit as perfect as I like with snaps. I have covers that are basically the same thing as bummis super whisper wraps (I think...can't recall the name right this minute.). They are Real Nappy brand anyway and I know they used to outsource their covers from bummis. I do have some old ones labeled as bummis that need some new aplix but apart from that, even the very old ones are still awesome.

I MUCH prefer bamboo to microfibre. Feels better, smells better, works better for a longer time.