Think I Might Have A Fight On My Hands (home/hospital)

chattyB

Reaction score
Uurrgghh - this is EXACTLY what I didn't want. I'm 35 and expecting baby 4 after a 10 year gap. My older children are 17, 12 and 9. I am an ex midwife and used to work on the delivery suite of a larger hospital - I left and decided to concentrate on being a mum.

I went onto labour at 21 weeks with my twin boys and unfortunately, the labour couldn't be stopped. My boys were born sleeping. I went on to have another 2 children, my son (12) was born at 42+4, 10lb, natural waterbirth in hospital. My daughter (9) was induced at 36+1 due to polyhydramosis (reduced fluid), 7lb 6oz, direct OP position, ventouse and a PPH.

My midwife at the booking in appt is great, very pro home birth but told me I'll be under consultant care due to previous preterm labour at 21 weeks and threatened preterm labour at 30weeks with my 9 year old.

I'm not a stupid young girl - I realise that if I start to go into labour early, my hopes of for a home birth would be the last thing on my mind and I'll be heading straight into hospital myself. I don't want to be under consultant care - I want to be able to relax and enjoy this pregnancy, not sit and worry everyday that something is going to go wrong.

Midwife knows I'm not happy but I know she's just following protocol. I know that I can "refuse" to see the consultant BUT the consultant actually travels out to the clinic to see mothers - it makes it all a bit awkward.

This is a new area for me - I grew up had my other children and trained in England, I'm in Scotland now do the "system" is a little different.

I really don't know what to do! I hate the thought that every appointment could be turned into a battle of wills and being preached at about the dangers of home birth .... I'd rather cut all ties and go to an independent midwife, or go for UC if it comes to it.

BTW - all previous labours have been pretty quick. #1- 1hr 52mins, 2#- 3hr 4min, #3. 3hr 27min.