TTC after 2 ERPCs for same pregnancy

DebsHopeful

Mummy to a beautiful girl
Reaction score
TTC after 2 ERPCs for same pregnancy

Hi Ladies,

This is my first time writing on the web like this and must say it is extremely comforting to know that I am not alone. My best wishes go out to all of you WTTC and TTC.

I two had to have two ERPCs for the same pregnancy.

I went for my 13 week scan. I was told I was carring a baby boy.
We got to see him in a 4D scan and he was sucking his thumb (they can normally only do this at 16 weeks, or so the books say).

The gynea then did the nuchal fold test.
It should have been under 0.3 but instead it was 0.86,
to make matters worse the left side of his heart had not developed.
We were told he would not survive past 6 months in the womb and so we would have to terminate the pregnancy.

On Monday 4th August 2008 I had my first ERPC.
I bled heavily for about 4 days and then continued to bleed for a further 3 and a half weeks.

On the 1st September I went to work in a complete state and could not stop crying. I knew I was morning but I was out of control.
I went another gynea for a second opinion as to what was happening to me and why was I still bleeding.
He discovered a large portion of the placenta was still inside me and my cervix was still open.
I was rushed in for an emergency second ERPC that evening. The bleeding the second time round was only 2 days and then light spotting for another week.

I saw him for a check up on Friday 5th September since I needed to know that he had managed to get everything out.
He then told me that during the operation he had taken a blood test and 4 weeks after my first ERPC my HCG count was a whopping 124,000 when it should have been 0.

He said he suspected the pregnancy may have turned into a Molar Pregnancy and in which case I would need chemo.
I had to wait until Monday 15th September, two weeks after the op to go and get my next HCG count. I was so stressed but......it came back 8.5.