TTC, applying for new job. What would you do?

CS10

Mum2 Isabelle&angelAidan
Reaction score
Hi ladies,
I'm really struggling to decide what to do... I've seen a job I really want to apply for but are also ttc after we lost our son in October. I work in education and if I get the job wont start until September. Really hope to be pregnant by then, I will still get maternity pay so that is not really an issue, just feel bad. Do you think it will be very dishonest to apply knowing full well that i'm trying for a baby and if we are successful, won't be there for very long before I go on maternit leave again.

Unhappy at my current school, they've been very unsupportive and have done nothing to make my return to work easier so don't feel like staying there.

If only I had a crystal ball to see how long it will take to get pregnant again.

Any advice, opinions much appreciated.

Hi, i dnt think its selfish to apply whilst ttc. Hopefully not, but it could take u a while to get pregnant again and its nobodys business intill u actually are pregnant. I would apply for it and see if u are lucky enough to get it and then plan when to tell them when u get pg. dnt stress yourself yet. Good luck! x

Thanks for replying.
That's what i think, might take a while to get pregnant (hope not because this ttc business is sooo hard... but who knows) If I dont apply and take a while to get preggers will really regret it.
xx

Oh god i hope we dnt have to wait long too, but at least if u get the job u will have maternity pay and good conditions etc :) x

I am in the same position.

I really am not enjoying my job and it is causing me a lot of stress at the moment. I hate coming here and feel like crying most days :cry:

The only thing that is keeping me here (I also work in education but in the admin side of things) is that I will be entitled to maternity benefits and if I go elsewhere I would probably have to work a minimum of 6 - 12 months to be entitled to maternity leave.