TTC Month 5 - Looking for Advice/Inspiration

mrst1984

Reaction score
Hi all! I am new to this, but I am seeking some support. I am 30 years old, and my husband and I have been trying to conceive for 5 months. I know this is no time for some, but it has been disappointing for us, as most of our circle of friends conceived in the first month or two. We both plan to get tested after month 6. In the meantime, I would love some advice, insight, or words of encouragement. I feel really alone since my friends/family have not had any difficulty conceiving. Thank you in advance!

It can take normal healthy couples 12 months to conceive.

I don't mean to offend but I think posting in the LTTc section after just 5 months is a little insensitive. Many of the ladies here have been trying for years.

I feel a bit bad now.

Some steps you could take are look into temping and use opks.

I think that the people around you have been extremely lucky to conceive so quickly and have maybe skewed your view of what is normal. As zorak says it can take a healthy couple 12 months to conceive, many doctors don't carry out test until after 2 years. In the meantime take the opportunity to get to know your body and what is normal for you - chart, temp, use OPKs watch your body and learn how it reacts throughout your cycle and be sure that you are timing Baby dancing for when it will do you the most good. I have to say that I don't think LTTC is a good place to be posting as Zorak says many people on here have been trying for years and if we happen to be having a bad day your post may feel hurtful/insensitive even though that isn't what you mean to achieve. I would head back to the TTC boards and learn everything you can from people in the same situation as you. hopefully you never actually have to belong over here.

lizzie x

Temp to figure out when you ovulate and keep having sex.