understanding ovulation blood test results

kirtsonfire

Reaction score
hi all. I'm new to this, so forgive me if I don't use (or understand) all the lingo.
I'm 24 and my partner is 31. we have an almost 3 year old daughter (who took about 7/8 months to conceive) and we're trying for number 2.
we've been trying for about 10 months now with no luck. I have a very regular 26 day cycle, which means ovulation should occur around day 12. a few months back i decided to try an OPK, the first one i started testing day 9 and only had the comparison line, around day 14 i got a very faint test line. the second time i had the comparison line and a very faint test line on day 11/12/13 and a very dark line one day 14.
I've been taking vitex for about 3 months now as I heard that can help (it's cheap enough, so why not?) but still no luck, it has relieved some of my period symptoms so i do like it for that reason.
i saw my dr who orderd blood test for me, but was quiet confident that nothing was wrong it just hadn't clicked yet. she went on to tell me to relax because being stressed wont help (oh I'm relaxed....just frustrated). so this month I thought stuff it. I won't track I won't test i won't do kits, I've got holidays from work, I'll just give it no attention and go with it....well that didn't work either.
the dr told me on a 26 day cycle i should do the blood test on day 19, day 19 was a sunday, so I rang to double check when to go and i got conflicting answers. "go on day 21, go 7 days post ovulation". i ended up testing day 21, which was 7 days post ovulation (assuming i ovulated around day 15, given that i don't get a positive OPK until day 14. my period also came a day earlier, so i had a 25 day cycle)