'unusual' names

kerste

Reaction score
My OH and I have decided on 3 girls names we like which is all fine and good, but we're finding boys names more of a challenge.
Being a teacher, I would like a name that i'm not teaching at the moment so there's no association with anyone in particular (there's over 80 kids in the year group so that narrows our choices!). E.g. I like Luke but teach two of them at the moment so that's no go.:nope:
OH likes reasonably traditional, 'normal' names as he calls it, and thinks it would be an act of cruelty to name our child anything remotely unusual. I've mentioned a couple of names to him, like Rupert, Noah, and Theo, but he thinks they're way too unusual - even though the last two are in the top 100 names list at the moment.
My plan is to keep making mention of them so he doesn't think they are unusual any longer. It might just be working as Theo is growing on him! :happydance:
Has anyone else had this problem with OH thinking names are unusual - even if they're not really that unusual?

Yes!! I totally know where your coming from lol!!
I really liked Imani for our little girl but he said it was a 'made up name!'
I also liked Paris and India(gone off them slightly now) but he used to say
'we might aswell call her Liverpool!'

I absolutely love the names Theo and Noah :) and they are becoming more and more popular so theyre not really unusual! Keep on at him...Im sure you'll get your own way ;) x

I love India - I could totally imagine my hubby responding in a similar way though!
Theo is my favourite and I love the fact that i'e never taught one!:thumbup:

My OH claimed he had never heard of the name Freya even though I know several people with children called this!