Vitex/Maca Users: Is it side effects, pregnancy, or am I finally insane?

Robynxo

Finally there! Due in July 2019!
Reaction score
Hello ladies, (this post is going to be long - sorry!) :blush:

I am a long time stalker of this forum and I decided I should finally post again after 3 years since my last post.

A little background information: DH and I are in our early 20's. I have never had a BFP, a miscarriage, anything. We started NTNP about 3.5 years ago. Halfway through, we decided to start TTC. I haven't been big on charting my temperatures, and I tried checking CM and CP but it never really changed enough for me to notice. My normal period was probably about 35 days when I was a teenager, but in the past few years it has ranged from 22 to 80 days. Seriously, it’s that crazy lol. There is no telling when it will start. I believe I have a hormone imbalance or maybe PCOS, but I am trying to not self-diagnose. Also, I am trying to test out some things before I go in to see the doctor for some help.

After research and recommendations, I started taking Vitex and Maca on September 3, 2016. I started to get very gentle cramps, and voila! A few days later, I got my period! I was so excited after having 60-80 day cycles the past few cycles. The period was the normal 5 day flow I always have. Then the cramping stopped after my period ended. I continued to take the Vitex and Maca.

On CD 13/September 20th, I had cramps on and off all day. I have never experienced mid-cycle cramps before so I figured that I ovulated around that time. I found it odd because it was such a text book time to ovulate, and I have never ever had 28-day cycles. DH and I BD often enough usually, but around this time, it was more frequent (increased libido maybe?), at least every other day.