Weird feeling I've never had

Xpecta

Reaction score
Today while making a special Valentine's breakfast for my kids, I all of a sudden felt like I couldn't breathe. I felt like there was not enough oxygen getting in. I then started breathing deep and the more I did so, I got more and more dizzy and light headed. It started really scaring me. I started swaying and my husband had to hold me steady. Then it started fading and I continued, but still my heart feels very tight and my head feels light.

It felt like what people describe panic attacks like, but I had NOTHING going on that would make me have one.

Has anyone ever experienced this or something similar? Should I go in?
I'm laying down now, but my heart still feels tight.

I'm not technically in my 2nd trimester yet (although I could be -- we'll see what dr says in 2 days!), but I did experience this a few days ago!

I felt lightheaded and very short of breath, I kept having to take deep breaths but felt like I couldn't fill up my lungs completely. I didn't feel like I was going to pass out, but I did feel a bit weak. I have been slightly anemic in the past as well, so that could have something to do with it, but I know shortness of breath is a fairly common symptom. I've read that your lung capacity expands 20% when you're pregnant, so catching up to that is sometimes difficult.

Yeah, in my last two pregnancies I had a hard time breathing. This one has been different though. It came out of no where!

Had it been a very long time since you'd eaten? Sometimes I experience that, too, if I haven't eaten in a while awhile... could be low blood sugar or iron, maybe?

It could also have been a panic/anxiety attack as you described, those can definitely happen out of nowhere without a necessary cause or trigger.

Either way, it's not a fun feeling! :(

I had just had a snack about a half hour before that. But I hadn't eaten breakfast.