What would you do?

Pearls18

Reaction score
If the perfect job opportunity was advertised while you only had a 4 week old, what would you do? The job is the same role I do now (but would give me a lot more experience), similar wages, but it is 3 miles down the road (I currently commute 1 hour 15 into Central London) obviously I can't go for it now (I keep telling myself this......) would you email and ask how soon they want someone? I am in a very close knit field community-wise and am over qualified for the role I work in (and this one) as I had children young so am doing my masters part time to qualify for the next level up which is taking a while! (Normally people work in this level of job for one year before doing the masters, I've been doing it for 4 years -but I love it-) I know without sounding big headed I am a desirable candidate never having had an issue getting a job in what is usually a very competitive field, but I know it just isnt feasible now, someone talk some sense into me, it's so typical I have been watching this particular employer for 2 years and now they have an opening!!!!

Congratulations, just saw you had your little boy!

When are you due to return to work? I would be tempted to apply, or at least enquire about it, you can't lose anything by doing so anyway!

I'd email them definitely, they might not need you straight away/they might be flexible, you don't know if you don't ask xx

A larger wage would entice me more but you would obviously save money from the commute. I don't know, its a tough one. I wouldn't be comfortable leaving a month old, perhaps if my mother/sister lived near and the hours weren't too long.

Nothing to lose hun - go for it, make yourself an opportunity!