What's great about having a son?

crossroads

Co-creator of a boy &girl
Reaction score
I'm pregnant with my second child. I have no idea of the gender yet but if it's a boy I think I may feel dissapointed. Mainly because I have enjoyed parenting my daughter so much and I have no experience with boys.

So I thought I would come to you experienced folk to find out what the real deal is like.

What's great about having a son?

Well, all kids are different, so it depends on their personality, just like with girls.

My boys are all rough and tumble. I enjoy chasing them around. They are just so lively and energetic I can't help but smile. My boys can be trouble makers (not bad, just they do stupid things sometimes) but life is never boring :wacko:

My 5 year old boy still loves to cuddle for story time and he absolutely loves following me around and helping me. Don't get me wrong, he is one of the most stubborn and roughest of my boys, but he has such a sweet, soft side that makes my heart melt :cloud9:

I admit, I was disappointed when I learned my first was a boy. But, I bonded with him while pregnant. When I saw his face, I melted. I knew he was perfect and exactly what I wanted. We are so close now even though he is 19 and no longer living here (or even in this state!). We talk a lot on the phone and he shares everything with me because he respects my opinion. He is a great man and watching your little boy grow up into a great man is amazing and so rewarding.

Good luck and I wish you a happy and healthy pregnancy and delivery!

I have been blessed with 3 gorgeous boy 10yrs, 8yrs and 8 weeks and they bring me so much joy. I don't have girls so I can't compare but when I had my 3rd every kept asking if I wanted a girl and I can honestly say I didn't have a preference.

If you have a boy I'm sure you'll enjoy the experience as much as you have with your daughter. If you do have a boy your daughter won't feel pushed out at all she may if you have a girl.