30 year old TTC after Mirena IUD removal and low estrogen

brose9

Reaction score
hello,

I am new to babyandbump, I found it by chance after looking for women who are going through similar experience as myself.

I am 30 years old (have never been pregnant) and I have always had a normal menstrual cycle. On May 21, 2008 I had the Mirena IUD inserted. Immediately my periods stopped, which I was told was normal when using Mirena IUD. I went on the IUD after having a really bad reaction to Ortho Tri Cyclen birth control pills. The IUD was the only thing my gynecologist was able to do for me in terms of birth control at the time, even though I did not have any children prior to the IUD being inserted. I had no issues with the IUD after insertion (other than my periods completely stopping) and chose to remove it on March 5, 2013.

My menstrual cycle came on June 9, 2013. It was short, but it came. Since then I have yet to get my period. When my partner and I decided to try to conceive, I was worried that I couldn't track my ovulation so I was sent to a reproductive endocrinologist, who discovered that I had low estrogen levels.

Follicle Stimulating Hormone 68.0U/L
Estradiol <20pg/ml
Cortisol 8.0ug/dl
Luteinizing Hormone 26.3
Progesterone 0.7

I've been tracking my ovulation through ultrasound. I had my first ultrasound on 11/20/13 where a follicle was found and measured 11mm. Had a 2nd ultrasound on 11/25, which the same follicle found on 11/20/13 was found not growing - it was still measured at 11mm. Today (12/9) had my 3rd ultrasound and no changes were seen. The same follicle found on 11/20 was present and was still not growing. No other follicles were found.

My reproductive endocrinologist recommended that I do these ultrasound every 2 weeks to see if any follicles pop up and show any signs of ovulation. I haven't been prescribed anything (other than pre-natal vitamins).