Any teachers out there who are mummys?

Pinkgirl

Reaction score
Hey

Not really sure where i should of posted this?????

but was wondering if any of you mummys are teachers? If so i kindof have a few questions. How long where you on maternity leave? do you plan on going back part time or full time? And in the future would your children go to the same school you teach ask.

The reasons for my questions is that my OH is very keen on having children. But one thing on my mind is how am i going to work and be a mum. I dont live near to where i teach so my child wouldnt get into my school. this means they would then go to a different school and if i am working full time i will never be able to take them or pick them up. :cry: something i do want to be part of. I guess i am just thinking of all the possibilities at the moment. I love the school i teach and wanted to stay there. i would love some advise please.

thankyou x

I'm a teacher, right now i am studying for an extra qualification, but I have looked at going back to work. Here school is til 1:30 and that's considered a full time schedule.
28 hours in elementary school.
My baby is in daycare til 1:30 everyday so that would work out okay for me. I don't think I would like to teach in a school that my kids were in I feel it causes too many problems, favoritism issues, and uncomfortableness from both sides the kids and the parent. But that is just my opinion.
As far as prep work goes, I would definitely do a lot of my preparation for the year in the summer. To have limited preparation for the lessons during the year , but you still have work to do for your lessons and homework to check and I guess you gotta do it when your baby is in bed. Here maternity leave is 3 months for teachers.