~Birth Story - Esmé Eva - Traumatic~

Elski

Reaction score
Right soooo, I was all set for a home waterbirth (I used to be a midwife and really didn't want to birth in hospital) when at 40+5 I was diagnosed with a condition called Obstetric Cholestasis and whipped in to hospital for an induction :cry: Induction was really my own personal worst-case-scenario and I was devastated. So at 1pm on 9th December I was examined and at 2cm dilated, given the first lot of gel... (I didn't tell any of the staff I used to be a midwife as I didn't want it to impact on the care I received).

At 6pm that evening I started contracting and my doula - Rozy - arrived. Myself, OH and Rozy were having a really nice time chatting and laughing with them helping me breathe through the contractions. At 8pm the doctor came in wanting to give me the second lot of gel and Rozy asked if she could wait an hour and see how things were going as I was contracting well. The Dr stormed out and came back with the Head of Midwifery and two other doctors who all proceeded to bully us and tell us they had 'procedures to follow'. Basically I was a statistic, not a person. The gel was given and immediately my uterus went hypertonic (basically one huge contraction that won't release), it was agony and I was screaming and they had to give me drugs to reverse it. I then started on the gas and air.