bottle ?

coz

Mummy to 2 boys
Reaction score
Im not very good with bottles as i breastfeed and wanted some advice, Im going shopping tomorrow and i usually take some formula with me instead when i go for a big shop incase hes hungry and im finding it a pain making it from scratch when im out, is it ok to make the bottle before i go out ? if so how long can i keep a ready made bottle for ? xx

I've taken bottles out with me, just make sure to keep them cold and than we ask for a cup of hot water to warm them up in. The other thing we've done is put hot sterilized water in the bottle and keep the formula separate (we have a dispenser that lets us measure it out) and make the bottle as needed. If you are only using formula occassionally you might look at the ready made formulas. You don't have to warm those up or worry about them going bad, just open and use as needed. (They are kind of pricey but if you are only using them once in a while it's not so bad).

I was going to suggest the ready made cartons if you don't use formula much - saves buying a lot that you might not use, and you won't need to worry about keeping it fresh...just tip it into a steile bottle at room temperature when you need it x

They really are convenient. We've used them a few times and any long trips we make we've already decided to go with the ready-made...it's just so much more convenient

I agree...when i go out i get the ready made formula milk and just pour it in a steralised bottle when needed. However if you want to take the formula...just boil some water before you leave and add it to the steriised bottle...just add the powder when needed. I was told by cow and gate and also my HV the longest you should keep a made up bottle is 2hours after that you should get rid of it xx

we've used the ready made too, but my LO found it too rich, but that maybe because she is ff exclusively, it may be different for breast fed, im not sure :) might just be my LO! :)