Can anyone recommend a breast pump?

Delamere19

Mummy to 2 gorgeous boys!
Reaction score
Hi ladies,
I am hoping to breastfeed my new baby. I didn't get to really do it for long last time for medical reasons after birth so I am still a novice. I am looking into breast pumps and was wondering if anyone can recommend a breast pump. Either manual or electric. Thanks x

I use the medela swing electric pump and find it very good. Got it online at amazon so got about £30 off what it is normally in the shops.

What are your goals for pumping? Will you be pumping occasionally, every day, several times a day?

A double electric is a must IMO if you are planning to pump very often. Medela PISA is a great one. If you're not sure you'll need one of those, you could just get a manual to start with -- never hurts to have one of those around, for when you are engorged during the night, forget to bring your electric pump parts to work, etc -- and then see if you end up needing an electric as well.

What are your goals for pumping? Will you be pumping occasionally, every day, several times a day?

A double electric is a must IMO if you are planning to pump very often. Medela PISA is a great one. If you're not sure you'll need one of those, you could just get a manual to start with -- never hurts to have one of those around, for when you are engorged during the night, forget to bring your electric pump parts to work, etc -- and then see if you end up needing an electric as well.

I'm not really sure yet tbh. I would like to be able to give my oh chance to feed the baby too but I think maybe not until I am established with a good supply. When do you actually start pumping from? Day one or when your milk comes in? X

Some people pump early on if they have issues with latching etc, but you're generally advised to wait 4-6 weeks until your supply has regulated. You really don't want to create an oversupply.