Can you ask for a c-section if it is not medically necessary?

See I dont really see that much judgment in it - just trying to explain that a c section is not the "easier" option at all - and that the media sometime betrayal of it as such is wrong and that in many ways it the harder option.

My view is that it would be

EMCS (never had one)
ELCS (had one)
Assisted Delivery (had one without pain relief)
Natural birth

And that you should make an informed choice which includes taking peoples experiences into account - and those experiences are sometimes going to be inline with your view and sometimes not.

And yes the idea of your vagina tearing is scary and yes it can hurt (I have an external 2nd degree and internal tear) but for me the idea of having being cut inside and not being able to see it was much worse.

As I said before I would much rather go through my two hour quick labour of no pain relief and constant contraction that ended up with me being in stirrups and a ventouse than I would an elective c section.

But an elective c section is as much giving birth as anything else and no one should feel ashamed for having one, it a valid brith method. Its just not easier (imo)

As for major variations in recovery time its like any illness or infection different people react differently and have different experiences and different surgeons.

I don't think anyone can say which birth is "easier". Both can be equally just as hard to recover from depending on the person. I know a lot of moms who had one vaginal birth and one c section and thought the section was MUCH easier. I also know a lot of moms who have had both and thought their vaginal birth was easier.