Choosing when you will start trying

pudge05

Reaction score
How did you guys decide when you would start trying? My husband finally said that we could try in the future for #3 but we haven't set a date.

As soon as dh will let me... Jan 15 is a combination of having paid off our debts/loan, some time to save, linking the idea of a Sept baby and needing a "no later than" date for me to work towards

We've had to delay our TTC several times due to illness, redundancy, and studying and were originally due to start August 2012. Now we will start January 2014, everything permitting.

Our decision is based on two main things:

1: I'm studying for a work-based qualification and September 2014 is the earliest I can take a break from it, since my employer has hired someone until then to cover part of my normal hours so I can take time out to train. Ideally I'd wait until I've finished the qualification but that won't be until September 2015 at the earliest and I'll be 34 by then, so wouldn't give birth until age 35. I don't want to wait that long for my first LO, especially as we want two.

2: We're waiting for me to see an obstetrician about a long term medical condition that could cause serious problems in pregnancy. I have that appointment next week and am hoping to be given the go-ahead after that.

I also want to lose a bit more weight (I'm not terribly overweight - about 7lb) but would like to be back well within the 'healthy' zone before getting knocked up, so aiming to lose about a stone if I can, and certainly 7-8lb before getting pregnant.

We'd really like a 2014 baby but want to avoid a depths-of-winter birthday, and especially around Christmas, so it's quite a narrow window. We'll start in January and take a break for a cycle or two around March if we haven't caught yet,

There were a few things that influenced our TTC date: