Curtains- how much?

Mrs R

Reaction score
So, how much do you think is reasonable for a pair of living room curtains?? The ones I want are £107 and DH thinks it's a bit much. The last ones I got (7years ago!) were £80 (I was a student) and look rubbish now.

The reason I ask, is that my in-laws got new living room curtains not so long ago, and they cost over £500.... for a pair of curtains!

Of course I want them to be lined.

What's reasonable for you??

Curtains are expensive, we move house regularly and MOD issue curtains are horrendous so we buy them regularly, I tend to buy curtains from dunelm because they are cheap but good quality, I think I paid nearly £100 for our living room ones (two windows) if we were staying put I would happily spend much more.

Lol the curtains I have my eye on are from Dunelm. I think you have just helped me justify the spend!

So yeah I think £107 is reasonable, which ones are they by the way? I have some brown ones with gold flowering from there and they are such good quality you would think I had spent much more, dunelm is my go to for curtains!

That sounds about right to me, unless it's a really tiny window. For an "average" living room window I'd expect to pay around £100 for curtains as a basic price. Made to measure could easily be £500.

I used to work for a curtain retailer (price points similar to Dunelm Mill) so I'm confident you've got the right price there. Show this thread to your oh.

Wetherby Ready Made Blockout Eyelet Curtains Natural
https://Wetherby Ready Made Blockout Eyelet Curtains Natural

This is them (hope that worked). I bought them :)

I paid £90 ish for our living room ones, and they were reduced! They are 90 by 90.

I would say you've got a good price there then! I also think its worth getting nice ones, cheap ones can make a room look really rubbish!

My mum spent 20 grand on her curtains :shock: Makes me feel a little ill to think about it.