emptying the urine sample

Wriggley

Reaction score
Haha!

such a strange post but anyways i just wanted too see what other peoples midwifes do -

when ever i have a hospital appointment i have to take a wee sample with me and they always empty it and hand me back the same bottle but empty and rinsed out.

My midwife always just gives me the bottle back full of pee lol!

Dont bother me at all lol just find it a bit weird haha

so to everyone else does your midwife empty your wee out before giving you the bottle back?

Neither - I never get given the bottle back. My midwife disposes of it for me.

My midwife just throws it straight into the bin! I work in healthcare and would never dream of giving the patient back a used sample container! The inside should be sterile surely to get an accurate result! Same at my hospital, I give them my sample and don't see it again as it goes into the bin once tested. Xx

Eta- I voted no as my midwife doesn't empty it just throws it away although mayb I shouldn't have voted either as I seem to have answered wrong lol xx

Lol I know in the trust I work we give them back full of urine because we aren't allowed to empty them down the sink :) xx

We use disposable cups so she dips the strips, puts it in the machine for the tests and while it's doing that she dumps it out and throws the cup away

There is only a sink in the room and you can't tip it down the sink

I never get handed it back! My midwife tests it whilst a trainee midwife feels my tummy etc. I presume she will dispose of if after I've gone.

In the states we pee at the office in a throw away cup. Like at my office there this little door in the bathroom that you put it in and the ladies open it on the other side to grab the sample

My midwife throws it away in the bin but last time I saw a different one and she asked me if I minded if she gave it me back to use again, so she did lol with the wee in it! x