Genetic testing?

Bonnielass

Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is only my second post here, and I'm hoping someone can help me as the truth is, i'm a bit lost...also please excuse my 'ignorance' in places - I'm really new to this! Story is as follows...

My DH and I have decided to start the baby hunt this month, but there's a niggling issue - two year's ago, my husband's sister gave birth to a little girl with Downs Syndrome (nothing showed up on triple screening, and she was given a very low probability, so didn't think even about further testing). Unfortunately, the baby also had serious heart defects and died three months later. DH's sister then got pregnant again last year, and despite being told that the likelihood of history repeating itself was very low, amnio confirmed that this baby was also affected, and she aborted at 5 months. Since then, she has been having tests, including genetic tests, which have shown 70% abnormalities. However, it is difficult to get more information from her, and we don't want to pry too much as it's obviously difficult for her and given the recent traumas, we aren't too keen on advertising the fact that we are TTC. At the same time, I have been reading about balanced translocation, and we are obviously worried about DH and our future offspring...as far as I can see, there is no other family history of anything.

Has anyone been through genetic testing or experienced anything similar? Where do we start?
Thanks for any help!

I have not been through genetic testing, but I do think that this is something that you could totally bring up with your DR, since in your case, it is in the immediate family. I know that would be very worrisome, with your TTC adventure. Is your sister-in-law in the high risk age??? Are you??? Best wishes with whatever you decide.