Getting a dog

twinklestar25

Reaction score
Has anyone gotten a dog when you've decided no more children? I've thought about it for years and think we may go for it next yr when our boys will be 7&4 :)

My cousin has just done this and her children are 9 and 5. She doesn't live locally but by her Facebook posts they all love it

haha, Dh promised me a dog if we didn't do IUI for a third. :haha: In the end, I decided on my own that IUI wasn't for me. But I'm still torn on the dog thing. Dh and I both work, and I know dogs need social interaction. Any breeds ok for being alone part of the day?

I got dog when my youngest turned one. Dogs are great but a lot of work. I'm a vet nurse and already have a dog and completely under estimated how hard it would be! Each dog is so different. One of mine is happy home alone for a good chunk of the day.he has a dog flap. But the other would destroy the house. It's worth really looking into the realities of having a dog first. I'm not sure I would have gotten my puppy in hind sight. It's a lot of work

We have a labradoodle and he's amazing. Really great with the kids too, my youngest was about 6 I think when we got him. The puppy stage was hard, because he destroyed everything (3 sofas!) but he's really good now. Kids love him and he's very friendly. We walk him twice a day, which is good exercise for us humans aswell!

I'm pregnant with my last baby, so I feel like I belong in this area of BnB.

Anyways, I got a dog earlier in 2016. I figured I had 3 kids, and I could handle a dog...... Wow..... Was I wrong. Puppies are so different than children haha. I know... Naive right? Well, if you have the time for a puppy and training, then sure. If not, then maybe get an older dog? My friend did that and they got a great family dog. And there are some breeds that are fine being left alone. Mine is an outdoor dog, so he has lots of space to run and play.

Here's a pic of my pup Dax: