Getting kicks / pokes really low down in hip - breech?

Cattia

Reaction score
I'm 31 weeks, so I don't know whether or not the baby should have a fixed position yet? For the past week or so, I've felt a lot of prodding really low down by my right hip. If I put my hand there I can actually feel something sticking out, I'm not sure if it's a foot, knee or elbow. Does this mean baby is likely to be breech, and if so, what are the chances of it turning at 31 weeks? I know I still have a while to go but I thought I read somewhere that if they're breech at 32 weeks they are more likely to stay that way?

They can turn hours before labor begins. I was breeched at my 30 week appointment then at my 32 week appointment she went head down. I think I felt her turn again and will find out at my 34 week appointment.

I wouldn't worry about the baby being breeched until your hours from pushing, lol. I'm no doctor though.

I had the same concerns last week at my midwife appointment as I'd been feeling quite a few movements and kicks low down, my midwife had a feel and said baby is head down and it's his or her hands punching away at me, I think I've Defo got a little boxer on my hands lol xxx

They don't worry which way up baby is until about 34 weeks and even then they're not that worried. My DS was breech at 35 weeks then head down at 37 weeks if I remember correctly. Plenty of time to turn.

Mine is definitely head down and I feel strong pokes down low all the time, I think its elbows or hands.

Great, thank you ladies! I know it isn't the end of the world if she's breech, I'd just rather avoid a C section if possible, also as it't my third I guess they can move position much later. I hadn't considered that it might be her hand! I will ask the midwife in a couple of weeks when I next see her.

My lo turned from breech at 36 weeks.

Those little hands and elbows can definitely pack a punch so I wouldn't be concerned.