Guilt...

W8ing4ours

Reaction score
I've been pumping for 13 months and 10 days (but who's counting?!). My son was born at 30 weeks with severe IUGR, 2.0 lbs and only 13 inches. I tried harder to nurse him, for months and months, than anything I've ever tried to do. He just never got the hang of it, always had reflux/ swallowing issues, and could never manage the flow. So, i pumped on. I figure I've pumped almost 3000 times since he was born. At one point a few months ago the entire deep freezer was full, and somehow blew a fuze, and it ALL thawed. I had to throw away over 1600 ounces, yes, 1600 ounces. So, it's been quite a road. Every single month when i ovulate my supply dips drastically and i have to power pump for days to get it back. i live on fenugreek and blessed thistle just to make barely enough. My son will be 1 year adjusted in a few weeks and I'm ready to be done. Lately at night, when I'm still up hours after I should have gone to sleep, to pump one last time or I won't have enough milk for the night, I have actually been nauseated from not wanting to pump anymore. I feel SO guilty at the thought of stopping. Why? It's been almost 14 months,,when is enough, enough? I don't know how to stop the guilt, I'm ready to be done, I just thought I could find some support here, that someone agrees I've done enough...

You've done amazingly well. :hugs: Pumping is SO hard, let alone pumping all the time for 13 months! That is something you should be incredibly proud of.

To be honest I'm not sure if the guilt ever really goes away. I've been nursing my LO for almost 3 years and I sometimes feel bad for feeling done with it. But try to focus on the fact that you've given your LO the very best start.