Home made Mei Tai style slings

Lu28

Aisling's mammy
Reaction score
Have any of you made a Mei Tai style sling? I've seen a few patterns on the net and am tempted to give it a go as I don't have the money to buy one at the moment. Also, has anyone considered buying a homemade one?

Hi hun i have made one and i'm just about to make a second one that is more funky, as long as you remember to xbox the straps you will be fine, if you want and info, hints or tips then give me a shout x

I would totally buy a homemade one, and I would love to make one but I am rubbish at sewing. I want to give it a go at some point though. :)

Right, I'll give it a go then! :thumbup: dippy dee, any hints tips or info you could give me would be great, I'm a total novice! If it goes well, I might look at selling some on ebay for extra cash...

Brill that you are giving it a go they are so easy to make and save you loads of money, for my first one i made it out of some cheap material so i didn't waste money if it come out wrong and also you always learn what not to do on your first one, i have tweaked mine a couple of times now so it is how i like it now.
Start with a basic pattern and then you can build on that after, like i said before xbox's are so important to the straps as they help with stand the weight of lo and ensures the straps don't give way.
For the straps i didn't pad mine first time but i am going to on the next one, just the bits that touch my shoulders as they can cut in if lo is heavy or you are carrying for a long time, also copy everything you cut etc onto paper so you have the pattern for next time and write sizes down of the straps etc.
There are some concerns regarding using cord for straps so if you are going to use cord please line it with something like canvas so to re-inforce the strength.
Mmmm i can't think what else but if you want to give me a shout if you think of anything else then please feel free to do so. x