How long are you planning to take mat leave for?

DreamCatcher_

Reaction score
So I've just submitted my maternity leave forms for work and hoping to stop at 36 weeks.

However, this got me thinking about my return date as I started to panic about money and SMP etc. When are you planning to return to work/how long are you taking off?

I had initially planned mid April to mid December (as a teacher my accrued holidays would mean I'd go back on the pay role but not back in to work until Jan 2018), which would be 8 and a half months with DS being 7 and a half months give or take. Although my panic has caused me to think about going back in October.

So I've just submitted my maternity leave forms for work and hoping to stop at 36 weeks.

However, this got me thinking about my return date as I started to panic about money and SMP etc. When are you planning to return to work/how long are you taking off?

I had initially planned mid April to mid December (as a teacher my accrued holidays would mean I'd go back on the pay role but not back in to work until Jan 2018), which would be 8 and a half months with DS being 7 and a half months give or take. Although my panic has caused me to think about going back in October.

I recently had to make this decision myself.

I really wanted to take a full nine months, but because SMP is only half of what I earn monthly, I can't afford to. Husband works, but his job is fairly average pay.

I've organised to take 6 months, however I've discussed with my workplace that if needs be, I can give notice and return earlier. So if it's too stressful financially, I may go back after 5 months.

Sad that finances have to influence over this wonderful time. Trust me, I wish I had all the time in the world to be home with my baby.