How soon...

Hellylou

Mum to 3 and 1 Angel
Reaction score
Hi lovely ladies, :hugs:

Just wondering how soon you went back to work (if applicable) after your loss? It has been 2 and a half weeks since delivery, and a week since d & e operation, plus other complications. I have been signed off next week also, but I'm not sure how I will even know when I should go back. I don't think anyone will pressure me to go back, but just interested to know how long you were off work...

Thanks and hugs :hugs::hugs:

P.S. Oh, and just to add, I work as a welfare benefits advisor to the public, dealing with homelessness, state benefits, taxes, disability help, and local council services, so I deal with a wide range of peoples' problems...

Can you go back PT just for a week or so, to 'test the waters'?

I had an m/c at 7-8 wks tow years ago and I was able to take a week or so off; then my lovely immediate boss cut my hours for a few weeks, which was great; I went back to a regular schedule after about 6 weeks. I work in further education and my students were fantastic; if I felt that I was getting upset, I could 'go outside and get a book we needed', e.g. run to the bathroom or stand in the stair-well and cry a bit....

best wishes

I'm still off work, 14 weeks later. I qualified for maternity leave, as one of my girls was born alive, although she lived for just a few minutes. I plan to go back in 6 weeks, as that is when my pay drops ;)

to be honest, I have felt for about a month now, that I could have gone back if I had to. But I thought, seeing as they were paying me my full wage, why not stay off and make sure I am really ready before going back.

don't let anyone rush you into returning, make sure you are ready. it's still so early for you, I don't think I could have done it after 2.5 weeks. xxx

Hi Hellylou :flower:

That decision is ultimately up to you my dear ...:hugs:

I lost my daughter 6 months ago... I was @20 weeks along when she was taken away ...