How to prepare?

nona81

A little bit pregnant x
Reaction score
Hey there!

I am new to this! My husband and I have been together for about 8 years, and we've been married for the past 2 months. We really want to start a family, we love the idea of having a baby, although the thought of being parents terrifies us! I really want to make sure that I get myself prepared to get pregnant. I have an implanon implant at the moment, I plan on getting it removed in February. After that, how do I go about preparing to conceive?

Do I need to leave it a while before we start trying? Do I need to take vitamins, folic acid etc whilst we are trying? I have no idea! :shrug:

I work with my husband so it's really hard to discuss these issues with my girlfriends at work. :blush:

Any preparation advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

I'm taking folic acid and pronatal vitamins but other than that I'm just trying to eat and generally live healthily. I'm also charting to try to understand my body and my cycles better. I don't know if I should be doing more though. Hopefully someone will be able to point us in the right direction.

PS - Congrats on the wedding, hubby and I are also newlyweds (have been married just over 2 weeks!) :wedding:

Yep, take folic acid and keep yourself healthy with good eating and exercise and cut back on alcohol and maybe try and stop smoking if you're a smoker?

Also, maybe start tracking your cycles so you know when you're ovulating so you know the best times to have sex is to maximise your chances :)

I have started to act as though I am pregnant while waiting to try and now trying to conceive.
I have been taking a pregnancy tablet which contains folic acid 400µg, the B vitamins, iron, calcium, etc etc...all the stuff that's good during pregnancy. (Of course it is recommended that you start taking folic acid at least 3 months before you conceive).