is it worth using disposables for the first few weeks?

xemmax

mummy in love
Reaction score
hi ladies, hoping for some help if you don't mind! :)

definiting going for cloth nappies and have decided that tots bots bamboozles sound perfect, however we decided today to buy trial packs of a few as we read that this is the best course of action.

i keep reading everywhere that it's best for the first few weeks to use disposables to get you used to the pattern. i really wasn't sure i wanted to do that, but now i'm thinking that while we're trialling out each of the different nappies then it may well be easier (as we probably won't have much of a supply).

does anyone think it's worth getting some eco-friendly disposables for the first few weeks? and would it be a bit foolish to just go all out and buy a whole pack of nappies without trialling them?

any advice greatly appreciated! i'm a total newbie who has reached a dead end. :flower:

We did, although for the reason that her Bum Genius BTP didn't fit at first with her being early - I started to use them as soon as they fitted.

I think its not such a bad thing to use sposies in the first few days - when you just want something to work - cos you have so many things to think about already and the last thing (IMO) you need is worrying about nappies not fiting right or washing them etc

I was thinking this too! :flower:
Also because i dont want to get the first runny poo on lovely fluffy nappies :blush:
I think once we are in more of a pattern with LO we will introduce them then, it might make it easier!

Plus people have bought us a couple of big boxes of sposies... may as well use them up, someone will :flower:

Besides if you stay in hozzy it might be hard to use cloth, especially if you dont have a huge stash at first
I was only in 2 whole days and one night so that wouldnt have been to bad for cloth, but any longer and it may have been