Kitchen Work and Pregnancy

Karigan

Reaction score
Hello all, this my first lost but I was hoping you all could give me some input.

I am now pregnant with my first child. I just found out yesterday and I am about six weeks along. My biggest question is regarding my job, and how long I can wait before telling my boss.

I work in a kitchen in a multi-functional possition. I'm a line cook, dishwasher, prep cook, and food runner. The operation is small, and weekdays there is only the owner who is the main cook, his wife who serves, and me to fill in for everything else. Weekends we do have a dedicated dishwasher. My shifts are anywhere from 4-7 hours long five days a week.

Things go from slow to mad and we don't get breaks. I have the option of snacking during a shift, but that and bathroom breaks are about it.

My biggest concern is heavy lifting. All of our stock is in the basement and must be carried up a flight of stairs. The loads are anywhere from 10-65 lbs and I have to make the run at least a dozen times a night. I can do smaller loads, but it's still a lot of work. I don't have many symptoms yet, just the occasional nausea that is hardly worth mentioning, but if I have it it gets worse with heavy lifting. I also get lightheaded very easily and when I was three weeks I had 5 days where I thought I was I'll with both these things but now I know the cause.

Do you think I should tell him right away or should I wait until symptoms get worse?

Tell them right away because lifting is dangerous

If your job has you doing jobs that are not recommended for pregnant women then they have to modify your work so you can continue working. So yes I would definitely let him know so he can figure out another way of getting the heavier items up the stairs. They are legally obligated to make your job safe for you.