Lupus Anticoagulant

thingschange1

Reaction score
Ok i know everyone will probably say i am stupid because of my age but yes i am 18 and wanting a baby and have done since i was about 13 but obviously i had more serious things to attend to first. First let me tell you my situation, im an 18 year old teaching assistant, who does one evening a week at college to get my degree in order to work to being a teacher, i live with my boyfriend (who is also employed but as a forklift driver ---so we are not just the average bum which everyone usually assumes teenagers to be). we are now concidering having a baby because i found out i have lupus anticoagulant - which decreases your change in givin birth succesfully, because your body attacks the child. So my dilema is do we wait and let our chances in having children decrease each year or do we start trying for children as it could be over 5 attempts/mis carriages before we have our own child due to my medical condition.

thank you

claire xx

No one can make this decision for you. No matter what age you are, or what situation you are in, there is always going to be someone who has some negative comment to make because they think they know better. Eighteen or eighty, there will always be someone.

If you feel that the two of you are stable (financially and otherwise) enough to bring a child into this world, then that is your choice to make. We are not here to judge you, rather to support you in whatever decision you feel is best, whether that be trying now, waiting, or not trying not protecting.

You've been placed into a tough situation. All I suggest is that you both sit down and seriously discuss the repercussions of each decision before making it. I wish you the best of luck. If you need anyone to talk to, send a pm my way. I just turned nineteen and I know much of the position you are in (of wanting a child that is). *hugs*

How long till you finish your corse?