Maternity leave, best time to go?

maybaby2018

Reaction score
So I know the earliest you can go on maternity leave is 11 weeks before the baby is due. I know most people try and hold out for as long as possible. I work in a hospital and have quite a stressful job, ontop of already having a 5 year old who I take to school in the morning before rushing off to work! Baby is due at the end of May...however, given I am high risk, I was planning on starting maternity leave in April...BUT...our holiday goes from April to April, so I will be entitled to that time, I'm not sure weather to take April as holiday...or see if I can get paid the holiday pay after my smp...when do you plan on going on maternity leave? Xx

I only work two days as a teacher and both of my children have been late so I am hoping to finish the day I turn 38 weeks.

It is handy that you can add your holiday to the beginning/end to extend it.

Last time I was told to stop work at 36 weeks due to a heart irregularity (mine). I also work in the NHS and took 2 weeks off annual leave before my mat leave started. I went off in November. I took a month of annual leave off at the end of my maternity too. This time I'm due 30th April and plan to start my maternity 9th April. Since hols run April to March, I plan on taking about half of my annual leave allowance at the end of this maternity leave to extend it a bit.

I would plan to take your leave after the holiday so you can at least have a little extra time with your little one without being too rough on your body :)

I always think of maternity leave as including pregnancy. So when I'm finding my job too difficult I take it and just go from there. I usually end up taking an extra month or two in the end unpaid so my babe makes it to 12 months before I need to leave them for a couple days a week with pumped milk! If you can take paid vacation to extend your leave then do it!!

It really depends how you are