missed miscarriage

tallualh

Reaction score
hi, i recently suffered a miscarriage back in june this year and i am posting this now as when i discovered in my 12 week scan that my baby had died at 10 weeks i trawlled through the internet to find some answers to my questions, even though i am a midwife i still wanted answers. So, i write this now in the hope that i can be of help to someone someday.

I found out that i had had a missed miscarriage during a routine scan at 11 weeks. I had had a slight bleed on the sunday and so went to my gp the next day, the sonagrapher then told me that unfortunately she could not find a heart beat and that the baby dated at 9 +3 days. i was given teh 3 options that i am sure you are aware of but decied to opt for the conservative option as i was already bleeding and wanted to let nature take its course, i really didnt feel i could face a d&c.

this was on the monday, and each day i was monitioring the loss of blood. Wednesday night at approx 11pm i could feel what was teh start of the miscarriage starting - exactly the same as the start of early labour (it is infact the cervix dilating). by 5.30 am i had passed the fetus and had been in tremendous pain - it is terrible pain and looking back i think it would have been best to have gone into hospital and had the pessere as they can give you more for the pain relief - however, i did feel that the privacy of your own home is a far greater benefit for you, and if all else fails you can always phone for and ambulance. as i was in such great pain, i phoned the gyaeny ward that gave me the options on the monday and they recommeded to ring the emergency doctor, which i did.

following this, i had an appointment the next day with the sanographer and it did show that the fetus had passed but there was a little remainign so i had a follow up appointment a week later and luckily it did show that my uterus had cleared itself of the fetus.