My boss guessed that I'm pregnant!

novembergirl

Reaction score
10 weeks pregnant and feeling ever-so-slightly silly! It's my first pregnancy and I work in education, so I haven't told anyone at work yet that I'm expecting apart from a couple of friends. I never would have thought anyone could guess but I've had quite bad morning sickness and I missed a day of work last week (which I didn't exactly lie about, I just said 'I've been really sick').

Anyway, yesterday morning I was feeling a bit nauseous and my head of department shoved a glass of water at me and said 'so how long has it been?'

I thought she was asking how long I'd not been feeling well, so I said 'oh, it's going on and on.' She laughed at me and said 'I meant, how many weeks pregnant are you?'. I think my mouth dropped open because I was seriously stunned that she'd guessed. She wasn't annoyed that I hadn't said or anything, she just thought it was really funny that I was so surprised she'd guessed! She said 'no-one has a stomach bug for 2 weeks' (we just came back from hols last week) and she's had 3 of her own, so she knows etc.

Anyway, I'm not upset that she knows or anything, but I feel a bit silly for not saying anything - I just didn't want to tell everyone yet and I still don't want everyone to know, is that weird?

It's not weird at all not a lot of people will share there exciting news so early on. Congratulations :happydance:

Don't worry - I am sure she will respect your wishes if you ask her to wait a bit before telling others.

I told my boss at 12 weeks with DD (I had just started a new job and they wanted to book flights for me)! However I asked for time to prove myself before he told the team. At 18 weeks he (on the quiet) told me the bump was getting a little noticeable so I announced.

xx

Oh, she was lovely about it! However, my hope that she won't tell anyone at all is small - she does enjoy being the one to break the news!